J P Pomare

Books Pippa Masson, Curtis Brown Australia Email Pippa Masson

In The Clearing

book | Fiction | Dec 2019
ANZ → Hachette Australia (Ed. Robert Watkins)
UK → Hodder (Ed. Kate Howard)
US → Mulholland (Ed. Emily Giglierano)

'Another breathtaking page-turner from the author of Call Me Evie' - Christian White, bestselling author of The Nowhere Child

Amy has only ever known what life is like in the Clearing. She knows what's expected of her. She knows what to do to please her elders, and how to make sure life in the community remains happy and calm. That is, until a new young girl joins the group. She isn't fitting in; she doesn't want to stay. What happens next will turn life as Amy knows it on its head.

Freya has gone to great lengths to feel like a 'normal person'. In fact, if you saw her go about her day with her young son, you'd think she was an everyday mum. That is, until a young girl goes missing and someone from her past, someone she hasn't seen for a very long time, arrives in town.

As Amy and Freya's story intertwines the secrets of the past bubble up to the surface. This rural Aussie town's dark underbelly is about to be exposed and lives will be destroyed.

Rights

Kate Cooper manages the translation rights for In The Clearing

Film Rights

Available

Contact Pippa Masson for more information

Audio Rights

Available

The audio rights are handled by Pippa Masson.

Reviews

Clear your schedules, because after reading page one you won’t be able to stop. In The Clearing is another breathtaking page-turner from the author of Call Me Evie. A dark, chilling, atmospheric thriller populated with mysterious and wonderfully flawed characters.  

Christian White

"J.P.Pomare captivates in this haunting novel, In The Clearing. I was utterly gripped with the stories of Amy and Freya from start to finish, and fascinated by the unexpected way the two came together.The writing was evocative, the characters flawed, the plotting tight and believable — many times I felt like I was standing in The Clearing, experiencing everything alongside the characters. Thrilling, atmospheric and with twists abounding, this book held me in its spell long after the final page. A sure-fire bestseller. Bravo.”

Sally Hepworth

Pomare has an extraordinary talent for getting readers to question every conclusion and to never completely trust anyone - especially his narrators. Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins will find Pomare's latest offering a compelling novel of psychological suspense.

Books and Publishing
Full Review

There’s no doubt about it: Pomare is a master of the carefully constructed, impeccably paced psycho-thriller....Still in his early thirties, he already writes with more assurance, and more subtlety, than some of the giants in his field. It seems safe to predict  that he will one day be regarded as a giant in the field too.




Weekend Australian
Full Review

Pomare’s new novel, In the Clearing, is written with a technical aplomb that proves his first was no fluke. There’s no doubt about it: Pomare is a master of the carefully constructed, impeccably paced psycho-thriller.

The Australian

Pomare alternates between Freya and Amy’s stories in ways that challenge the reader to work out how these two characters connect, gradually revealing the secrets of the past until all the pieces of the puzzle fit satisfyingly

Sydney Morning Herald

There are lots of premium crime-fiction offerings this summer, but this bloodcurdling exploration of the asphyxiating grip of a cult on its followers deserves to be at the top of your pile.

The New Daily

Still in his early thirties, he already writes with more assurance, and more subtlety, than some of the giants in his field. It seems safe to predict that he will one day be regarded as a giant in the field too.

The Australian

Both his books are testament to the fact that he could be one of the most exciting literary thriller authors to come out of the country.

The Saturday Paper

If J P Pomare’s Call Me Evie was a slow-burner of a psychological thriller, his follow-up, In the Clearing, is a pared-back firecracker

Books + Publishing

Representation
Books
Pippa Masson
Curtis Brown Australia
Email Pippa Masson
Books
Gordon Wise
+44 (0) 20 7393 4420
Email Gordon Wise
Translation Rights
Kate Cooper
+44 020 7393 4425
Email Kate Cooper