Karen Perry


View PDF version


Karen Perry is the pen name of Paul Perry and Karen Gillece.

Paul Perry is the author of a number of critically acclaimed books including The Drowning of the Saints, Goldsmith’s Ghost, 108 Moons, The Orchid Keeper, and most recently The Last Falcon and Small Ordinance (The Dedalus Press, 2010) which Dermot Bolger described as ‘the work of a singular imagination.’ A winner of The Hennessy New Irish Writer of The Year Award, he is a Lecturer in Creative Writing for Kingston University, London, Writer Fellow for University College Dublin and Course Director in Poetry for the Faber Academy in Dublin.

Karen Gillece is the author of four critically acclaimed novels: Seven Nights In Zaragoza (2005), Longshore Drift (2006), My Glass Heart (2007) and The Absent Wife (2008), all published by Hachette Books Ireland. Her novels have been published in several European languages and in 2009 she won the European Union Prize for Literature (Ireland). She lives in Dublin.

Their keenly awaited new novel, Girl Unknownis published by Michael Joseph (June 2016).

Current Publishers


Publishers Worldwide

See Current Publishers

Deceit, infidelity, and surprising twists make this a satisfying debut

Publishers Weekly on The Innocent Sleep

More on The Innocent Sleep

Perry delivers an intriguingly emotional and unconventional debut.

Kirkus on The Innocent Sleep

More on The Innocent Sleep

Deliciously taut…the haunting, sometimes vague flashbacks to Tangiers create a sense of alluring, exotic danger.

Booklist (starred review) on The Innocent Sleep

More on The Innocent Sleep


  • RT @DeadGoodBooks: We have five copies of #GirlUnknown by @KarenPerryBooks to give away! RT to win one – or grab the ebook for £1.99: https…

    RT @inkwellHQ: Riona Judge McCormack @rionajmc standout winner of the 2016 45th Anniversary New Irish Writing Award #dublin… https://t.co/W…

    RT @inkwellHQ: .@paulperry's awards speech is the most lyrical I've ever heard! Wow!