Laurel Snyder

Books Tina Dubois, +1 212 556 5600 Email Tina Dubois

Orphan Island

Longlisted for the National Book Award
book | Fiction | May 2017
US & Canada → Walden Pond Press (Ed. Jordan Brown)

Lord of the Flies meets Lost.

For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker's Pax and Lois Lowry's The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them—and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now—to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back—and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?


Rights

Audio Rights

Available

The audio rights are handled by Walden Pond Press.

Film Rights

Available

Contact Tina Dubois for more information

Roxane Edouard manages the translation rights for Orphan Island

Translation Rights Sold

Chinese Simple
Mainland China
Beijing Dandelion Children's Books
Farsi
World
Porteghaal
French
World
Editions Milan
German
World
Mixtvision
Romanian
World
Art Grup Editorial
Reviews

The dissonance Jinny feels is universal, and Snyder’s skillful storytelling and lyrical writing heighten its impact.

Publishers Weekly (starred)
Full Review

This charming, engrossing tale set in a vividly realized world is expertly paced and will appeal to fans of wilderness adventure stories and character-driven relationship novels alike.

Kirkus
Full Review

Snyder’s tribute to the painful aspects of growing up is elegant in its simplicity.

The Horn Book
Full Review

Delightfully strange.

Bulletin for the Center for Children’s Books
Full Review

The premise is intriguing, the writing is strong, and the tight pacing will keep readers fully engaged.

School Library Journal
Full Review

A wondrous book, wise and wild and deeply true.

Kelly Barnhill

This is one of those books that haunts you long after you read it. Thought-provoking and magical.

Rick Riordan

Representation
Books
Tina Dubois
+1 212 556 5600
Email Tina Dubois
Translation Rights
Roxane Edouard
+44 (0)20 7393 4491
Email Roxane Edouard
News