Director for Television and Film

Toby is currently working on the Rogue One spinoff series for Lucasfilm/Disney +. He recently directed the pilot and three further episodes of Utopia, written by Gillian Flynn for Amazon Studios, and was also executive producer across the series.

He directed the critically acclaimed Black Mirror episode 'USS Callister' which won four Primetime Emmy Awards including the award for Oustanding Television Movie. Toby recently directed James Graham's Brexit: The Uncivil War, starring Benedict Cumberbatch, which was nominated for an Emmy for Outstanding Television Movie and two BAFTAs for Best Director and Best Single Drama.

Prior to this Toby directed and exec produced all seven parts of an adaptation of the acclaimed novel by Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, for Cuba Pictures and BBC One. Prior to that he directed the opener of the BBC's reworking of The Musketeers.

Toby directed the audacious finale to series Sherlock Series 2: The Reichenbach Fall, which was the third most watched TV programme of the decade and ignited a media frenzy around Sherlock’s apparent death plunge. In his review of the episode Andrew Billen of The Times wrote, "This detective story so transcended its genre, it should be considered alongside British TV drama’s highest achievements." 

He also opened the first series of the hit BBC 3 show Being Human, starring Russell Tovey, Aidan Turner and Leonora Crichlow. The series won the Broadcast Award for Best New Programme.

Further credits include Wallander Series 3 starring Kenneth Branagh and Five Days II for BBC1 starring Suranne Jones and David Morrissey. Toby has directed multiple episodes of Doctor Who including the series 5 finale The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang, which won the Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form), followed by the one-off special A Christmas Carol starring Michael Gambon and the opening to series 6 The Impossible Astronaut and The Day of the Moon.

Toby is a graduate of The National Film & Television School.



Director & Executive Producer 

4 x 55'
Producer Huey M. Park
Writer Gillian Flynn
  • John Cusack
  • Rainn Wilson
  • Sasha Lane
  • Amazon Studios
    Creator Susanna Clarke
    Producer Nick Hirschkorn
  • Ariyon Bakare
  • Bertie Carvel
  • Eddie Marsan
  • Set in 19th-century England around the time of the Napoleonic Wars, it is based on the premise that magic once existed in England and has returned with two men: Gilbert Norrell and Jonathan Strange.
    Cuba Pictures for BBC One


    1 x 90'
    Producer Lynn Horsford
    Writer James Graham
  • Benedict Cumberbatch
  • Lee Boardman
  • Oliver Maltman
  • House Productions for Channel 4, HBO
    Creator Charlie Brooker
    Producer Louise Sutton
    Writer William Bridges
  • Jesse Plemons
  • Cristin Milioti
  • Michaela Coel
  • Osy Ikhile
  • Science Fiction Television Series

    Zeppotron for Netflix
    1 x 90'
    Creator Henning Mankell
    Producer Sanne Wohlenberg
    Writer Peter Harness
  • Kenneth Branagh
  • Third series of the popular BBC series, based on the novels by Henning Mankell.
    Left Bank Pictures for BBC One
    Creator Mark Gatiss and Stephen Moffat
    Producer Elaine Cameron
    Writer Stephen Thompson
  • Benedict Cumberbatch
  • Martin Freeman
  • Modern day retelling of the Authur Conan Doyle classic, following Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson in 21st Century London.
    Hartswood Films for BBC
    Creator Stephen Moffat
    Writer Steven Moffat
  • Matt Smith
  • Karen Gillan
  • Arthur Darvill
  • Alex Kingston
  • Opening block of Steven Moffat and Matt Smith's second series of Doctor Who titled The Impossible Astronaut and Day of the Moon.
    BBC Wales for BBC
    Doctor Who: Series 5, Episodes 12 & 13
    Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form).
    2 x 45'
    Writer Steven Moffat
  • Arthur Darvill
  • Tony Curran
  • Karen Gillan
  • Alex Kingston
  • The two part finale of Matt Smith's first series as Doctor Who, titled The Pandorica Opens and The Big Bang
    BBC Wales for BBC
    Producer Sanne Wohlenberg
    Writer Steven Moffat
  • Leo Bill
  • Arthur Darvill
  • Michael Gambon
  • Karen Gillan
  • A festive edition of the time-travelling adventure.

    BBC Wales for BBC
    Producer Colin Wratten
    Writer Adrian Hodges
  • Peter Capaldi
  • Luke Pasqualino
  • Howard Charles
  • Santiago Cabrera
  • Inspired by the classic Dumas novel, the BBC adaptation sees Aramis, Porthos and Athos embarking on new adventures in a gritty portrayal of 17th Century France.

    BBC America
    Producer Caroline Skinner
    Writer Gwyneth Hughes
  • Bernard Hill
  • Suranne Jones
  • David Morrissey
  • Second series of Gywneth Hughes' police drama shown stripped across five nights of one week on BBC1
    In House BBC for BBC
    Producer Matt Bouch
    Writer Toby Whithouse
  • Leonora Crichlow
  • Lauren Shcoley
  • Russell Tovey
  • Aidan Turner
  • Toby opened the first series of BBC3's award winning supernatural drama
    Touchpaper Television for BBC
    Producer Patrick Schweitzer
  • Liam Boyle
  • Andrew Knott
  • Ruta Gedmintas
  • Georgia Moffat
  • Teen spin off drama from the hit BBC1 show Spooks
    Kudos Film and Television for BBC
    Holby Blue
    2 x 60'
    Producer Claire Phillips
    Writer Jeff Povey
  • Jimmy Akingbola
  • Richard Harrington
  • Joe Jacobs
  • Cal Macaniach
  • BBC police drama
    Red Planet Pictures for BBC
    5 x 30'
    Writer Phil Redmond
  • Devon Anderson
  • Andree Bernard
  • Jennifer Bidall
  • Hollie-Jay Bowes
  • Lime Pictures for Channel 4
    Producer Kerry Appelyard
    Writer Keith Brampton & Nathan Cockerill
  • Jane Cameron
  • Moustafa Chousein-Oglou
  • Danny John-Jules
  • Rachel Petladwala
  • Kudos Film and Television Ltd for CBBC
    Coming Up
    1 x 24'
    Producer Gillian McNeil
  • Ewen Bremner
  • Amelia Bullmore
  • Olivia Colman
  • Eddie Marsan
  • 'The Baader Meinhof Gang Show'

    Ideal World Productions for Channel 4
    M.I. High
    5 x 30'
    Producer Kerry Appelyard
    Writer Keith Brumpton
  • Jane Cameron
  • Moustafa Chousein-Oglou
  • Danny John-Jules
  • Rachel Petladwala
  • Kudos Film and Television for CBBC



    Producer Tora Young
  • Christopher Cazenove
  • Phil Daniels
  • Alistair McGowan
  • NFTS Graduation Film
    Producer Arit Eminue
    Writer Johnnie Quarrell
    Sputnik Films