Theatre, Film and TV  |  Aug 10, 2021

Broadcast Digital Awards 2021 shortlist announced

The Broadcast Digital Awards 2021 shortlist has been announced.

Co-created by and starring Billie Piper and produced by Andrea DewsberyI Hate Suzie has been nominated for Best Drama Programme. Save Me Toowhich was directed by Jim Loach, was also nominated for Best Drama.

I Hate Suzie is a Sky Original series about a female celebrity who has her life upended when her phone is hacked and a compromising photo is leaked. Also a Sky Original, Save Me Too concerns a father’s desperate quest to find his missing daughter, and follows on from the first series of Save Me.

Gbemisola Ikumelo wrote for and starred in Famalam, which has been nominated for Best Comedy Programme. Additionally, Tommy Forbes directed The Emily Atack Showand Neil Webster wrote three episodes of The Young Offenders. These latter two shows were also nominated for Best Comedy.

Famalam is a zany comedy sketch show featuring Black British talent. The Emily Atack Show similarly includes sketches, as well as stand-up comedy and celebrity impressions. Having run for three series, The Young Offenders is an Irish sitcom that follows a pair of lovable rogues from Cork.

Pls Like – created and produced by Olly Cambridgeproduced by Rupert Majendie, and featuring Emma Sidi – was nominated for Best Short Form Scripted. Also nominated for this category was PRU, written by Alex Tenenbaum and Nathaniel Stevens.

Pls Like is a mockumentary series about YouTube vloggers, whereas PRU is a sitcom pilot about a group of teens navigating the pitfalls of adolescence in a school for excluded kids. Both programmes premiered digitally on BBC Three.

Amongst the nominees for Best Digital Support for a Programme is It’s a Sin, which was directed by Peter Hoar. A five-part drama about a group of friends living and loving in the shadow of the AIDS epidemic, It’s a Sin premiered in January and helped Channel 4’s streaming service All 4 achieve a record-breaking month.

The awards ceremony will take place at The Brewery on 6th October.

The complete shortlist can be viewed on the Broadcast Digital Awards website here.