Books  |  Feb 7, 2020

SEA MONSTERS by Chloe Aridjis longlisted for PEN/Faulkner Award

Sea Monsters by Chloe Aridjis has been longlisted for the PEN/Faulkner award. 

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is awarded annually by the PEN/Faulkner Foundation to the authors of the year's best works of fiction by living American citizens. While the award usually announces five finalists for its annual fiction prize, the judges have released a longlist of “the 10 most significant books published in 2019” to honour its 40th anniversary.

The full longlist is as follows:

  • The Bird King by G. Willow Wilson
  • The Night Swimmers by Peter Rock
  • On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong
  • Patsy by Nicole Dennis-Benn 
  • A People's History of Heaven by Mathangi Subramanian
  • Sea Monsters by Chloe Aridjis
  • Sing to It: New Stories by Amy Hempel
  • The Topeka School by Ben Lerner 
  • We Cast a Shadow by Maurice Carlos Ruffin
  • Where Reasons End by Yiyun Li

From this list, the judges will name five finalists in March 2020, and the winner will be announced in April 2020. The awards ceremony in Washington on May 4 will feature presentations by the judges and readings by the finalists.