Andy Riley

Books Gordon Wise, +44 (0) 20 7393 4420 Email Gordon Wise

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor

book | Fiction | 2016
UK & Comm → Hodder and Stoughton
US & Canada → Henry Holt & Co Inc

Imagine being a nine year old King, with a castle and a jester and a crown and all the other stuff which goes with being a ruler. Imagine your pocket money is a whole wheelbarrow full of gold coins. And imagine all the people of your kingdom love you. That’s life for Edwin, the king of Edwinland. 

The trouble is… Edwinland is next door to the land of Nurbisonia, ruled by the stunningly evil Emperor Nurbison. He’ll stop at nothing to seize Edwinland for his own.  

In this exciting and very funny adventure, expect crocodiles, chocolate bars, dragons, thrilling escapes, more chocolate bars, disguises, and the most hilariously entertaining baddie you’ll find in any book this year. 

Rights

Hodder and Stoughton manages the translation rights for King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor

Film Rights

Available

Contact Luke Speed for more information

Reviews

Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books.

David Walliams

Two words - such fun!

Miranda Hart

Features an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates.

Guardian

A brisk, bumptious read, full of preposterous names, surreal imagery and daft sound effects.

Financial Times

With super funny illustrations, the silly yet thrilling story line is sure to tickle.

School Library Journal

Pilkey, Krosoczka, and Walliams fans will be instant fans of this royal romp.

The Bulletin

Representation
Books
Gordon Wise
+44 (0) 20 7393 4420
Email Gordon Wise
Theatre, Film and TV
Lily Williams
+44 (0)20 7393 4452
Email Lily Williams
Translation Rights
Sarah Harvey

Email Sarah Harvey