Chris Bohjalian

Books Jane Gelfman, Email Jane Gelfman

The Night Strangers

Gelfman Schneider Highlight Frankfurt Book Fair 2011
book | Fiction | 2011
US & Canada → Crown Publishers
UK & Comm → Simon & Schuster
The Night Strangers has received wonderful reviews on publication, including starred reviews from Booklist and Library Journal.

In a dusty corner of a basement in a rambling Victorian house in Northern New Hampshire, a door has long been sealed shut with thirty-nine 6-inch-long carriage bolts. The home’s new owners are Chip and Emily Linton and their twin ten-year-old daughters. Together they hope to rebuild their lives there after Chip, an airline pilot, has to ditch his seventy-seat regional jet in Lake Champlain due to double engine failure. The body count? Thirty-nine.

What follows is a riveting ghost story with all the hallmarks readers have come to expect from bestselling, award-winning novelist Chris Bohjalian: A palpable sense of place; meticulous research; an unerring sense of the demons that drive us; and characters we care about deeply.

The difference this time? Some of those characters are dead.
Rights

Claire Nozieres manages the translation rights for The Night Strangers

Co-agents

Translation Rights Sold

Thai
World
Tawan Publishing
Media
The Night Strangers
The Night Strangers
The Night Strangers
Reviews

Chris Bohjalian’s powerful novel grips like a vice from first to last.
Sally Cousins
Sunday Telegraph

This unsettling latest from master storyteller Bohjalian will keep you up at night. People Magazine

Echoes of Rosemary's Baby and The Shining. . .Read if you dare, but keep an extra light on, and make sure your seat is in the full upright and locked position. USA Today

Bohjalian flings himself into a full-blooded romance with the paranormal. In doing so, he earns a place alongside Stephen King as the master of the Halloween beach book. This ghost story is expertly and, at times, beautifully written, deliciously creepy, and, like a bag of trick-or-treat loot, silently calls out to you when it's languishing on the night table. The Boston Globe

Bohjalian combines modern-day horror with supernatural horror to create a double-whammy of otherwordly fear. But despite the modern trappings, this is a blood-splattered, old-fashioned ghost story. And there's no guarantee of safe passage in the end. The Miami Herald

A genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening . . . Fans of Alice Sebold and Margaret Atwood will find similar appeal here. Library Journal, starred review

Shades of The Shining make for a haunting tale...A modern-day ghost story worth losing sleep over.
Family Circle

After losing passengers in a forced landing, a pilot seeks respite by moving his family to New England. But the house is haunted and local witches won't leave them alone. Good 'n' spooky.
Good Housekeeping

Bohjalian's art is subtle, graceful, and thoughtful...How Bohjalian does it amazes me...A rare talent.


The Book Reporter

Put a haunted man in a haunted house...and you have a Halloween hair-raiser. But it's more than that. Bohjalian...understands trauma: how long it takes to recover from unimaginable pain, and how people who have never experienced it rarely understand.
Yankee Magazine

A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in the genre-bending novel, which rivals the spooky twists and turns of Stephen Irwin's The Dead Path (2010).
Booklist, starred review

Compelling. . .a practical magick horror story.
Kirkus Reviews

Bohjalian flings himself into a full-blooded romance with the paranormal. In doing so, he earns a place alongside Stephen King as the master of the Halloween beach book. This ghost story is expertly and, at times, beautifully written, deliciously creepy, and, like a bag of trick-or-treat loot, silently calls out to you when it’s languishing on the night table. Julie Wittes Schlack
The Boston Globe
Full Review

Bohjalian combines modern-day horror with supernatural horror to create a double-whammy of otherworldly fear. But despite the modern trappings, this is a blood-spattered, old-fashioned ghost story. And there’s no guarantee of safe passage in the end, Amy Driscoll
Miami Herald
Full Review

The book has a spellbinding clutch. A mélange of horror, thrill, drama, sex, and gore—juxtaposed against the quiet and solitude of a small New England town—it will test your courage and resolve. . .[It] will invade your world. Nanore Barsoumian
The Armenian Weekly
Full Review

A delicious and haunting tale...Bohjalian is a terrific writer and parsimonious in the way he issues information, slowly building an increasing sense of dread and excitement. Curt Schleier
Minneapolis Star Tribune

Riveting, seamless...a hell of a good ghost story. Justin Cronin
author of The Passage

You will close the book's covers totally satisfied, aware that this masterful storyteller has done it again.
Seattle Times

That thump thump you hear as you read is only your heart leaping from your chest. Keith Donohue
The Washington Post
Full Review

A spellbinding, heart-pounding novel...this is one perfect book for Halloween.
The Book Page
Full Review

Bohjalian is a master, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride.
Publishers Weekly
Full Review

Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening.
Library Review
Full Review

Representation
Books
Jane Gelfman

Email Jane Gelfman
Translation Rights
Claire Nozieres
+44 (0)20 7393 4425
Email Claire Nozieres
News