Colleen Hubbard

Books Cathryn Summerhayes, +44 (0)207 393 4281 Email Cathryn Summerhayes

Housebreaking

book | Fiction | Apr 2022
US → Berkley (Ed. Jennifer Monroe)
UK → Corsair (Little Brown)

On an unseasonably warm afternoon in late September, Del did something that she could not explain to herself and would not explain to others. In the months to come, when she considered the moment that changed everything, she would reach no conclusion as to why she did what she did. In the short term, it was stupid, but in the long term it was nothing short of catastrophic.

Housebreaking is a literary novel which revolves around a stubborn 24-year-old woman, Del, who deals with a long-simmering family feud by dismantling her house and moving it, alone and by hand, across a frozen pond during a harsh New England winter.

Rights

Katie McGowan manages the translation rights for Housebreaking

Film Rights

Available

Contact Luke Speed for more information

Translation Rights Sold

Hungarian
World
Park Kiado
Reviews

A wry and unexpectedly tender story of finding the family we need when we least expect it. Perfect for fans of Olive Kitteridge and The Good House.”

—Eleanor Brown, New York Times bestselling author of The Weird Sisters

“An unforgettable portrait of a young woman at war with the world and herself. Protagonist Del can be hard to like, but she remains easy to love. This is a brilliant and exciting debut.”

—Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of The Jane Austen Book Club

“Deliciously witty and deeply poignant. Sharp, surprising and memorable, this is a book I know I’ll keep mulling over for a long, long time.”

Emma Hooper, bestselling author of Etta and Otto and Russell and James

“Darkly funny and brimming with pathos...For fans of Elizabeth Strout, Ottessa Moshfegh...This is a humorous and life-affirming trip through the fraught, weird heart of America, exploring the granular details that make and break a life.”

—Sharlene Teo, award-winning author of Ponti

“A keenly observed and achingly real story of grief and loss and the extraordinary lengths one woman goes to make sense of her past and discover who she might become.”

—Dana Reinhardt, author of Tomorrow There Will Be Sun

Representation
Books
Cathryn Summerhayes
+44 (0)207 393 4281
Email Cathryn Summerhayes
Translation Rights
Katie McGowan
+44 (0)20 7393 4425
Email Katie McGowan