Kirsty Manning

Books Clare Forster, Curtis Brown Australia Email Clare Forster

The French Gift

book | Fiction | Apr 2021
ANZ → Allen & Unwin Pty (Ed. Annette Barlow)
US → HarperCollins (Ed. Tessa Woodward)

A World War II story of female friendship, longing and sacrifice through war and loss, bringing together the present and the past.

A forgotten manuscript threatens to unravel the past …

Fresnes Prison, 1940: Margot Bisset, a former maid from the Riviera, finds herself in a prison cell with writer and French Resistance fighter, Josephine Murant. Together, they are transferred to a work camp in Germany, where the secrets they share will bind them for generations to come.

Present-day Paris: Evie Black lives above her botanical bookshop with her teenage son, Hugo. Nursing a broken heart, Evie receives an unexpected letter; she clutches at an opportunity to spend a magical summer with Hugo on the Cote d'Azur.

It's here, on the Riviera, that the past envelops them and Evie attempts to unravel the official story of a famous novelist. If she succeeds, a murder from a lifetime ago may be solved.

Inspired by a true story of iconic French Resistance fighter, Agnes Humbert, whose secret journal shed light on a little-known aspect of World War II, The French Gift will captivate readers from beginning to unforgettable end.

Rights

Kate Cooper manages the translation rights for The French Gift

Audio Rights

Available

The audio rights are handled by Clare Forster.

Film Rights

Available

Contact Clare Forster for more information

Translation Rights Sold

Czech
World
Grada Publishing
Reviews

Manning's lush, moving novel connects the past with the present and describes the scents and tastes of France as it tells the intertwined stories of three smart, strong women.

Library Journal

Kirsty Manning has delivered yet again with this epic novel about women, love and heartbreak - The French Gift. With passion and sensitivity, Manning takes the reader on a journey that is near-impossible to tear yourself away from. I adore this author and this is without a doubt her finest work. A triumph!

Sally Hepworth, international bestselling author of The Mother-in-Law

In her stirring story of survival and sacrifice, Manning bestows a gift on discerning readers who seek contemplation as well as entertainment.

Fredericksburg Freelance Star

Fans of Lucinda Riley, Marisa de los Santos, and Paula McLain will adore Manning's nuanced and clear-eyed exploration of passion and sacrifice.

Booklist

Manning’s multilayered story is both terrifying and triumphant. Her talent for a surprising twist makes this story a must for her fans. 


Publishers Weekly
Full Review

The French Gift merges fact with fiction and the result is simply brilliant storytelling … The French Gift is historical fiction at its best. Manning doesn’t put a foot wrong, from the polished prose and compelling characters, to the fabulous sense of place that imbues this read. A glorious escape from reality, this will captivate readers from the beginning to the unforgettable, surprising end.

Better Reading

Representation
Books
Clare Forster
Curtis Brown Australia
Email Clare Forster
Translation Rights
Kate Cooper
+44 020 7393 4425
Email Kate Cooper
Books
Lucy Morris
+44 (0) 20 7393 4400
Email Lucy Morris