Novelist and playwright


English author and playwright Margaret Kennedy is best known for her second novel The Constant Nymph, published in 1924. She later adapted it for the stage and it premiered at the New Theatre in the West End starring Noel Coward and Edna Best. It has also been adapted for film and television, attesting to its popularity.

Kennedy wrote fifteen novels over the course of her career, including The Fool of the Family, a 1930 sequel to The Constant Nymph, which she also adapted for the stage as Escape me Never! She also wrote non-fiction, including a biography of Jane Austen and a study of the art of fiction, Outlaws on Parnassus.

Her novel Midas Touch was a Daily Mail Book of the month in 1938 and Troy Chimneys won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 1953.

Selected Titles

  • The Ladies of Lyndon (1923)
  • The Constant Nymph (1924)
  • The Fool of the Family (1930), sequel to The Constant Nymph.
  • Together and Apart (1936)
  • The Midas Touch (1938)
  • The Feast (1950)
  • Lucy Carmichael (1951)
  • Troy Chimneys (1953)
  • The Oracles (1955)
  • The Heroes of Clone (1957)
  • A Night in Cold Harbour (1960)
  • The Forgotten Smile (1961)