Margaret Yorke (January 1924-November 2012) was one of the most renowned British female authors of the mystery novel. She was born in Surrey but she spent her childhood in Dublin, Ireland before moving to England in 1937. During World War II she worked as a driver for the Women's Royal Naval service, and after the war she became the first woman to work in Christ Church library, Oxford.

She served as Chairman of the Crime Writer's association between 1979 and 1980, and went on to win the 1993 Golden Handcuffs award, a prize given to the UK's most popular crime writer. She was also awarded the CWA Cartier Diamond Dagger in 1999.

Patrick Grant series

  • Dead in the Morning (1970)
  • Silent Witness (1972)
  • Grave Matters (1973)
  • Mortal Remains (1974)
  • Cast for Death (1976)