Actors  |  Mar 31, 2016

2016 BAFTA TV Awards Nominations Announced

Congratulations to a number of Curtis Brown clients who feature in the 2016 BAFTA TV Awards nominations:

Sheridan Smith is nominated for Best Actress for her performance as Lisa Lynch in The C WordThe C Word's director Tim Kirkby is also nominated for Best Single Drama. Nicole Taylor adapted the screenplay from Lisa Lynch’s best-selling book and blog about her battle with cancer.

Tim is about to start directing Funny or Die’s new US baseball comedy Brockmire, which is scheduled to be released in 2017. Written by Joel Church-Cooper, Tim is also executive producer alongside Hank Azaria and Funny or Die’s Mike Farah and Joe Farrell.

Chanel Cresswell and Eleanor Worthington-Cox have both received nominations for Best Supporting Actress. Chanel for This is England ‘90 and Eleanor for The Enfield Haunting.

Jakob Verbruggen’s London Spy has been nominated for Best Mini Series. 

Jakob previously directed BBC crime drama The Fall which was also previously nominated for a BAFTA for Best Mini Series.  He directed the final two episodes of season 4 House of Cards and is currently in production on Charlie Brooker’s Black Mirror.

James Graham’s play The Vote is nominated for Best Live Event. The Vote was a live recording of James’ hit political comedy play, recorded in real time live from the Donmar on Election night 2015.

Humans, with the final block directed by China Moo-Young, has been nominated for Best Drama Series as well as the Radio Times Audience Award, which is voted for by members of the public. 

China recently directed the critically acclaimed BBC series Thirteen. Other recent credits include Spotless for Tandem/Canal Plus and two series of Call the Midwife.

Ed Bazalgette is lead director on Poldark which has also been nominated for the Radio Times Audience Award. 

Jimmy Dowdall wrote an episode of No Offence, which has also been nominated for Best Drama Series. He is now writing for the second series. Simon Meyers produced the series with Misha Manson-Smith directing several episodes.

In the Best Soap and Continuing Drama category there were nominations for EastEnders on which John Greening is a regular lead director. Also Emmerdale, with Linton Chiswick as a lead writer on the show and Coronation Street on which Damon Rochefort is a lead writer.

Grayson Perry has received a nomination in the Specialist Factual category for his Channel 4 programme Dream House.

See the BAFTA website for a full list of the nominees.

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Sunday 8th May.