Books  |  Dec 5, 2012

Miranda Hart and Sue Townsend win at the National Book Awards

Miranda Hart and Sue Townsend were both winners at 2012’s Specsavers National Book Awards.

Miranda Hart fought off stiff competition from Caitlin Moran, Michael Palin and A Street Cat Named Bob to walk away with the Magic FM Non-fiction Book of the Year award for her number one bestselling book Is It Just Me?

Sue Townsend also celebrated victory in the Audible Audio Book of the Year category, winning the award with Caroline Quentin’s narration of The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year. Sue came out on top of a stellar shortlist, which also included Ian Fleming, Hilary Mantel, Ian McEwan and Miranda Hart.

Meanwhile, Jojo Moyes was also shortlisted for the Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year for the bestselling Me Before You.

Miranda and Sue were presented with their awards by Dame Mary Perkins at a star-studded awards ceremony, hosted by Lorraine Kelly, at London’s glamorous Mandarin Oriental hotel.  Highlights from the awards will be shown in Lorraine’s ITV1 show on Wednesday 5 December, while the winners will also be interviewed on Magic FM.

The National Book Awards showcases the best of British writing and publishing, whilst celebrating books with wide popular appeal, critical acclaim and commercial success.  The winners are chosen by votes from the National Book Awards Academy. Votes at this stage are given to the whole academy of over 750 industry experts.